Eating Out

Most of the large supermarkets will have a list of their own label products which are suitable for people on special diets so write to the customer services manager or look on line to see if they have a list.

If you have a milk allergy or are lactose intolerant it is important to be aware that manufacturers sometimes change their recipes so always check the ingredients list before you buy don't just assume that because a product was once free from gluten or dairy it will always be so. For some people even a tiny trace of a food like wheat or dairy is enough to cause problems so always double check.

Some brands of margarines contain buttermilk, whey or casein so if you unable to tolerate any dairy whatsoever make sure the brand you choose is dairy free. For making sandwiches spread bread with mayonnaise instead of butter or margarine.

BACK TO New to Dairy-Free