Always Check Food Labels

Milk and milk products are often used as an ingredient in processed foods, so it's important to check the ingredients list on all packaged foods.

It's not always easy to tell just by looking at a food whether it contains milk or lactose - foods like ready prepared soup, cakes mixes, salad dressings even stock cubes can contain dairy so always check the labels carefully.

If you have a milk allergy or are lactose intolerant then you should avoid products which list any of the following words in the ingredients: Milk protein, milk, powder, animal fat, casein or caseinate, hydrolysed casein or whey, lactose, non-fat milk solids, lactalbumin, lactoglobulin, skimmed milk powder, whey, ghee.

BACK TO New to Dairy-Free